Classroom Organization

This week’s #SundayFunday challenge is “Organization.” I definitely like to think of myself as an organized person. With 5 preps sometimes I feel like there are a thousand things happening at once, so I have to have a system or I go crazy.

Here are a few ways I try to keep my classroom organized.

  • Folders for each student. I keep each student’s signed syllabus, quizzes, and tests on file for easy reference. It’s nice for keeping track of retakes and parent-teacher conferences. I have a folder for each student in my file cabinet.
    IMG_0103.jpg
  • Group tubs. I have a tub for each group of desks in my room with scissors, compasses, glue, etc. This is especially handy for geometry instead of having to pass out supplies all the time.
    IMG_0102.JPG
  • Paper organizer. Keeping track of copied things is the bane of my existence. I will inevitably pick them up and lay them down somewhere random and lose them forever. This hanging file organizer helps me out there – one pocket for each hour.img_00531.jpg
  • End of day checklist. I am a list person. For some reason I also do much better with printed lists than digital ones. I’ve got a list that I keep in a sheet protector and add to or check off with a dry erase marker throughout the day. It’s got activities that I do every day on it and room to add new ones.End_of_Day_Checklist_numbers.jpg
  • Whiteboard calendar. Pretty self-explanatory. This helps me keep track of what I’m doing each hour. I write in different colored markers for tests, activities, etc.IMG_0029.JPG
  • Schoology. We’re a 1:1 school, so Schoology helps me keep organize materials digitally to share with students. I really like it.
    Algebra_2__2017-18__1st_4th_Hour___Schoology.jpg
  • Retake forms. I use Google forms for students to set up test and quiz retakes. I have an add-on set up that emails me when a form has been submitted.
    Request_to_Retake_a_Test.jpg

I’m less skilled at keeping my digital ideas organized, but I do use a few tools that I would recommend.

  • Dropbox. Great for keeping files synced between home and school.
  • Pinterest. I try to keep my new activity ideas here. The internet is a black hole of things that I find and then can never find again, so I try to pin them when possible.

That’s about all that I can think of at the moment!

 

 

One thought on “Classroom Organization

  1. Pingback: SOS Organization for Teachers | I Speak Math

Leave a Reply

